Areas Of Google Blogger Help

The Google Blogger Help Group is the official help area for (Google) Blogger Blogs, where the users help themselves (with slight exception). There are 5 forums in Google Blogger Help.

  1. Customizing Templates
  2. Publishing Trouble
  3. How Do I?
  4. Something Is Broken
  5. Share Your Blog

Some people confuse the first four with the last.

  1. Customizing Templates
  2. Publishing Trouble
  3. How Do I?
  4. Something Is Broken

are for providing help. People write in needing help, ask for help, and the helpers try and answer their questions.

Share Your Blog is a different forum. There, everybody gets up and yells,

Hey everybody check out my blog!

Check out this neat article that I just wrote!

Some people ignore the amenities of Share Your Blog, and post in one of the 4 help forums

Hey everybody check out my blog!

ignoring the focus of those forums. The people who need the help will be doing several things.

  • Most Frequently: Posting pleas for help

    Hey somebody please help me with My Problem!

    and waiting for a solution to My Problem.

  • Occasionally: Looking for posts

    Hey somebody please help me with My Problem!

    to see what solution, if any, was found for My Problem.

  • Seldom to Never: Looking for posts

    Hey everybody, check out this neat article that I just wrote!

There are other problems with the

Hey everybody, check out this neat article that I just wrote!

approach.

  • It produces clutter in the forums.
  • It encourages the other helpers to spend their time writing marginally helpful articles, and less time helping.
  • It encourages the other helpers to likewise write

    Hey everybody, check out this neat article that I just wrote!

    which leads to still more clutter.

  • The

    Hey everybody check out my blog!

    posts, which cannot be pinned, and generate no responses, will disappear below the many help requests, helping nobody.

All around,

Hey everybody, check out this neat article that I just wrote!

is a bad practice.

If you want to help, answer questions. Post the links to your articles in your posts, and make the links relevant. Post links to your blogs in your signature. But don’t get in a help forum, and yell

Hey everybody, check out this neat article that I just wrote!

3 Responses to “Areas Of Google Blogger Help”

  1. Ron Southern Says:

    I guess you got that out of your system, but it seems improbable that anyone who needs to read your article is likely to read it. It’s WalMart, you know? And every time I go to WalMart, someone is going out the doors clearly marked Entrance and someone is going in the doors marked Exit. I don’t know if it’s because they’re herd animals or because they all just blunder through their lives, but none of them are logical. You might as well just beat some of them up for all the good it’ll do to talk to them.

  2. Ozzie Says:

    I have a feeling I’m posting in the wrong blog, but here it goes. My “provile views” is stuck at 73. It has been stuck at that for over a month even though more viewers have dropped the blog and I doubt none have clicked on “full profile.” Where can I go for a solution, or at least, to find out that it is indeed stuck?

  3. Chuck Says:

    I’ve read a lot of folks report the same, so you’re not alone. No acknowlegement by BS yet though.

    I’m not sure I would care anyway. I put meters on my blogs, that’s enough for me.

Leave a Reply

