Patience

So today I see the report (paraphrased to protect the guilty)

I just finished publicising my blog, My Blog. I setup a Google Sitemap for my blog myexample.blogspot.com. I submitted it to Google, MSN, and Yahoo. I even did Dream Submit. I waited a couple days, and Googled some of the keywords in my meta tag. My blog wasn’t in the search list. I even Googled for my blog by name – nothing. What now?

Well, what now is that you have to wait. The search engine spiders won’t be there, checking out your blog, immediately. It could be days, or weeks, before your blog is even noticed. And weeks before it’s indexed to any degree of usefulness.

Even after your blog is indexed, if it shows up in any typical search lists, it will probably be at the end. To get listed on the first page, you have to have weight. To have weight, you have to have content, plus people have to click to your blog, and hopefully link to it. None of this will happen during the first week.

And BTW, if you do get a hit from Googling for “My Blog” , or “myexample.blogspot.com”, don’t expect for the visitors to come rolling in. Nobody else is going to look for your blog by its name. You have to be included in real live search lists, before you get any possibility of visitors. And your blog description has to look interesting, so someone who sees the search list entry clicks on it, giving you an actual visitor.

And when you do start to get visitors, make sure that you have content, to encourage them to return.

Patience, young Skywalker.

Leave a Reply

