Help! I Can’t See My Blog!

I just posted to my blog, so I know that it’s there. I can tell others are looking at it. But I can’t see it.

Well, the good news is you don’t have a blog hijack or other calamity. Your blog is not gone.

Apparently, some ISPs are blocking *.blogspot.com, by address. You can access Blogger.com or you can access Blogspot.com (Both of those domains use IP address 66.102.15.100). But you can’t access nitecruzr.blogspot.com (The blogs themselves use 66.102.15.101).

You can’t access them directly. If you can access any anonymous proxy servers, though, you can access your blog thru them.

  • Click on one of these links.
  • Paste or type in the blog or website address, where it says to enter the blog or website address.
  • Hit Enter, Go, HideMyAss, or whatever.

To find an infinite list of other possible solutions, just Google for “free anonymous proxy”.

UPDATE (15:00, July 15): The Google Feed Reader (and probably other feed readers) appear to access the feeds without having to access the blog itself. Enter the Atom feed URL, and you may be able to view the blog text. You won’t see photos or fancy graphics, or scripts. Your sidebar won’t be visible either. Just the post content.

NOTE: Anonymous surfing, thru the above proxies (and many others) is free. Posting anonymously, which is what you do when you update your blog, generally requires a membership, or subscription, in the proxy service of your choice. That won’t be free. Let’s hope that they don’t start blocking Blogger.com or Blogspot.com.

QUESTION: What the heck are you talking about? Blogger.com is not blocked, but myblog.blogspot.com is?

Yep, that’s true. Open a command window, and enter “ping blogger.com”. Look at the return.

C:\>ping blogger.com

Pinging blogger.com [66.102.15.100] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 66.102.15.100: bytes=32 time=20ms TTL=248
Reply from 66.102.15.100: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=248
Reply from 66.102.15.100: bytes=32 time=17ms TTL=248
Reply from 66.102.15.100: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=248

Ping statistics for 66.102.15.100:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 16ms, Maximum = 20ms, Average = 17ms

Here’s the important part

Pinging blogger.com [66.102.15.100]

The IP address used by blogger.com is 66.102.15.100.

Now, do the same for your blog.

C:\>ping bloggerstatusforreal.blogspot.com

Pinging blogspot.blogger.com [66.102.15.101] with 32 bytes of data:

See the different IP address? That’s why you can access Blogger (and post to your blog), but you can’t access therealbloggerstatus.blogspot.com (and see what the heck is the problem). And that’s why some folks get

502 Bad Gateway


Update (17:00, June 19): Jason of Blogger Support has issued one of their usual detailed analysis of the situation.

Update (18:00, June 19): Mac The Fork suggests Bloggers read about ongoing activities, then contact the Indian team CERT-IN, to discuss the situation.

Update (12:00, June 20): The Indian government is claiming that the block was an administrative error. The original govenment document (claimed scanned copy provided) very specifically defined individual websites to be blocked.

6 Responses to “Help! I Can’t See My Blog!”

  1. Roslyn Says:

    Hi, we are having the same problem – our blog wont come up – the page is blank.

    Now as this blog is for a University assignment on New Media due on Friday – you can understand why this would be a little distressing.

    There was a note on the editing page of our blog that said ‘schedualed outing at 2PM PDT’ – which is fine, except we haven’t been able to access our blog ALL DAY.

    I may not be writing this on the right page – appologies if that is the case – and if so, please direct me to where I can ask this and get help (I tried the above sites, did nothing)

    Thanks.

  2. schizotres Says:

    i can view my blogs through those links you’ve provided but i can’t view my blogs directly from blogspot, s o does this mean i have to use those links to view/access my blogs? if it is so then its is really troublesome

  3. P Lahiri Says:

    I JUST CREATED A BLOG IN GOOGLE ON 1.12.06 AND I GOT A CONFIRMATION FROM GOOGLE , BUT I CANNOT ENTER MY ACCOUNT WITH THE PASSWORD. THEY SAY THAT MY ACCOUNT NAME DOES NOT EXIST. WHAT SHOULD I DO

  4. Chanel Says:

    i tried to view my blog through those links provided. but the same thing still happens. i go in and the status bar is DONE but the page is blank. can this be solved? i’ll appreciate if someone can help me.

  5. line Says:

    I have error 404 on my blog too, and anything you say cannot help me to see my blog. I live in Thailand and it just happen to me, so what can I do now.

  6. Chris Says:

    I’m in South Korea and just in the past week the site has become blocked. Why would they keep people from viewing blogs?

Leave a Reply

